Florida Marriage License Requirementsvalorbound2018-08-22T13:56:13+00:00
Get Married in Florida!
Requirements for FL Marriage License
WE ARE NOT THE CLERK OF COURT.
CLICK HERE FOR PHONE NUMBER AND DRIVING DIRECTIONS FOR THE CLERK OF COURT MARRIAGE LICENSE OFFICE IN DAYTONA BEACH.
The information on this web page is provided by Affordable Weddings as a public service. It is not intended as legal advice but rather general information to assist you. We do not warranty the accuracy of such information, as it is subject to change by any of the Florida Clerks of Court at any time. For further questions or to verify any information, please contact the Florida Clerk of Court where you will be applying for your marriage license.
Couples may apply for a Florida marriage license at any Clerk of Court in the State of Florida where they issue marriage licenses.
DAYTONA BEACH CLERK OF COURT MARRIAGE LICENSE OFFICE:
A marriage license may be acquired between 8 AM and 4 PM Monday through Friday, except legal holidays*, at the Courthouse Annex, 125 E. Orange Ave., Room 108, Daytona Beach, FL 32114, Phone (386) 257-6013. (No appointment necessary).
$86.00 (not included in our services). Payment may be made to the Clerk of Court by cash, money order, personal check or credit card (there is a $2.50 additional service charge for payment by credit card).
All Clerk’s offices are closed weekends and holidays and the office hours vary from 8 AM to 4:30 PM. Most offices require that you arrive before 4 PM to have your marriage license processed that day.
A FLORIDA marriage license is required for ALLmarriages performed in the State of Florida and is good anywhere in the State, regardless of the county issuing the license. Marriage licenses must be applied for in person with BOTH the prospective applicants present. Applicants must be 18 years of age or older and provide the office with identification containing a photograph and birth date. One (1) identification is required with the applicant’s picture, signature, and birth date. Driver’s License, Passport, Military ID, Alien Registration Card, and State of Florida ID are acceptable. All U.S. Citizens must also provide their Social Security Number. Those who are not U.S. citizens and/or have no Social Security number may provide an Alien Registration Card, Passport or any other form of acceptable government issued photo ID. There is no residence or citizenship status requirement. A blood test is no longer required, and the marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days anywhere in the State of Florida.
NOTE: If either applicant has been previously married, he/she MUST provide the Clerk the DATE his/her last marriage ended by death, divorce or annulment. If that marriage ended within the last sixty (60) days, he/she must also bring proof showing how the marriage ended. (If it ended more than 60 days ago, proof is not required.)
Non-Florida Residents: As long as NEITHER of the prospective applicants is a Florida resident, there is NO WAITING PERIOD. The premarital preparation course is NOT offered to NON-residents.
Florida Residents: Effective January 1, 1999, if a couple has not completed a premarital preparation course from a qualified course provider, the effective date of the marriage license will be delayed three (3) days from the date the marriage license is issued. Those couples who have completed a course will have the fee reduced by $32.50 and will have no waiting period to get married.
The Family Law Handbook is required by the State of Florida to be read by all marriage license applicants before the marriage license is issued. To speed things up, read it online by clicking on the following link: Family Law Handbook.
After reading the Family Law Handbook, print and complete (but don’t sign yet) the following application: Application for Marriage License. Then present the completed application at the marriage license desk, where both of you will then be asked to sign the document in front of the deputy clerk, present your photo ID and pay the fee. Following these suggestions should have you in and out of the marriage license office in just minutes.
ONLINE MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION:
Many Clerks of Court provide an online application on their website. Check the website of the Clerk of Court where you intend to get your marriage license. For the Daytona Beach, Ormond Beach, Ponce Inlet, New Smyrna Beach and other areas in Volusia County, click here to apply online: http://app02.clerk.org/or_em. You BOTH will still need to go to the Clerk’s office to show your ID’s, pay the $93.50 fee and pick up your marriage license.
If you are NOT a resident of Florida and cannot arrange to go in person to a Florida Clerk of Court during normal business hours Monday through Friday to apply for your marriage license, you can apply for it through Florida Marriage License Express, which processes marriage licenses via Federal Express. Click the following link for more information and pricing: Florida Marriage License Express.