Couples may apply for a Florida marriage license
at any Clerk of Court in the State of Florida where
they issue marriage licenses.
HERE FOR LIST AND PHONE NUMBERS OF
CLERKS OF COURT IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA
We obtained the following information from the Volusia County Clerk's
questions, further details or information not provided here, please contact the
Florida Clerk of Court where you will be getting your marriage license.
DAYTONA BEACH CLERK OF COURT
MARRIAGE LICENSE OFFICE: A
marriage license may be acquired between 8 AM
and 4 PM Monday through Friday, except legal
holidays*, at the Courthouse Annex, 125 E.
Orange Ave., Room 100, Daytona Beach, FL 32114,
Phone (386) 257-6013. (No appointment
HERE FOR VOLUSIA COUNTY CLERK OF COURT HOLIDAY
(includes Daytona Beach, Ormond Beach, Ponce
Inlet, New Smyrna Beach)
MARRIAGE LICENSE FEE:
$93.50 (not included in our services). Payment may be made
to the Clerk of Court by cash, money order, personal check or credit card (there is a
$2.50 additional service charge for payment by credit card).
BUSINESS HOURS: All clerk's offices are
closed weekends and holidays and the
office hours vary from 8 AM to 4:30 PM. You must
arrive before 4 PM to have your marriage license
processed that day.
FLORIDA marriage license is required for
marriages performed in the State of Florida
and is good for a wedding anywhere in the State, regardless of
the county issuing the license. Marriage
licenses must be applied for in person with
BOTH of the prospective couple present. Applicants must be 18 years
of age or older and provide the office with identification containing a photograph
and birth date. One (1) identification is required with the
applicant's picture, signature, and birth date. Driver's License,
Passport, Military ID, Alien Registration Card, and State of Florida ID
are acceptable. Those who are not U.S. citizens and/or have no Social
Security number may provide an Alien Registration Card,
Passport or any other form of acceptable government issued photo ID. There is no residence or citizenship
status requirement. A blood test is no longer required, and the marriage
license is valid for sixty (60) days anywhere in the State of Florida.
either applicant has been previously married, he/she MUST
provide the Clerk the DATE his/her last marriage ended by
death, divorce or annulment. If that marriage ended within the
last sixty (60) days, he/she must also bring proof showing how the
marriage ended. (If it ended more than 60 days ago,
proof is not required.)
Non-Florida Residents: As long as
NEITHER of the prospective couple is a
Florida resident, there is NO WAITING PERIOD.
The premarital preparation
course is NOT offered to NON-residents.
Florida Residents: Effective January 1, 1999, if a
couple has not completed a premarital preparation
course from a qualified course provider, the
effective date of the marriage license will
be delayed three (3) days from the date the
marriage license is issued. Those couples who have
completed a course will have the fee reduced by
$32.50 and will have no waiting period to get
married. If you want to take a premarital
preparation course, call the Clerk's office
where you plan to get your marriage license to
see if there is a course available and the cost.
LICENSE DOWNLOADS TO SPEED THINGS UP
Family Law Handbook
is required by the State of Florida to be read by all marriage
license applicants before the marriage license is issued. To
speed things up, read it online by clicking this ink:
After reading the Family Law
Handbook, print and complete (but don't sign
yet) the following application
Application for Marriage License and Statement Attesting to
Completion of Family Law Handbook.
Then present the
completed application at the marriage license desk, where both of
you will then be asked to sign the document in front of the deputy
clerk, present your photo ID and pay the fee. Following these
suggestions should have you in and out of the marriage license
office in just minutes.
LICENSE APPLICATION: Many Clerks of Court provide an online
application on their website. Check the website of the Clerk of Court
where you intend to get your marriage license. For the Daytona
Beach, Ormond Beach, Ponce Inlet, New Smyrna Beach and other areas in
Volusia County, click here to apply online:
(You both will still need to go to the Clerk's office to show your ID's, pay the $93.50 fee
and pick up your marriage license.)
FLORIDA MARRIAGE LICENSE EXPRESS:
If you are NOT a resident of Florida and cannot
arrange to go in person to a Florida Clerk of Court during
normal business hours Monday through Friday to apply for your marriage license, you can
apply for it through
Marriage License Express, which processes marriage
licenses via Federal Express. Click the following link for more information
Florida Marriage License
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
long is the license valid?
marriage license is valid for 60 days and
the marriage may take place anywhere in the
State of Florida. The marriage license form
must be returned to the Clerk's Office for
recording by the person performing the
marriage within ten days after the
marriage is performed. A copy will be provided.
I apply if I am under the age of 18?
If either of the couple is under the age
of 18, the Clerk's Office is authorized to issue a
marriage license if one of the following
conditions is met:
the age of 18 has a written consent from his
or her parents or guardian;
the minor applicant has been married
previously, the Clerk's office will issue a marriage
license provided the applicants furnish
documentation evidencing the prior marriage
County Judge is authorized to issue a marriage
license to any applicant under the age of
18, if one of the following conditions are
applicants swear under oath that they are
the parents of a child;
female applicant is pregnant and this fact
is verified by a licensed
statement and both parties swear under
oath that they are the expectant parents
of a child.
Clerk's Office will schedule a hearing, if
necessary, with a County Court Judge who
will then decide to issue or deny the
license based upon the circumstances of
the application and the accompanying
documentation. A fee of $94.00 is
required. If the judge denies the request,
$94.00 is refundable.
an error on your license:
your marriage license is issued you are
asked to look it over and verify that all the
information is correct. Later, if a change needs
to be made, and the license has been sent to the
Bureau of Vital Statistics, an Amended Marriage
License is issued at no charge.
I get a copy of my license?
records date back to 1855 in Volusia County.
For their search, they will need the names of the
couple, and the year that the marriage took
place. Search fee is $1.00 per name per year.
Certified copies are $2.50 each.